Zero To Jr Android Dev in 4 months

Zero To Jr Android Dev in 4 months

Hi, I'm Raheem Hammed an android developer from Lagos Nigeria, This is my first blog post and i am happy to share my programming experience with you. I started Android Development September 2020 though i have been trying to explore the world of programming right from my first year in college but i couldn't due to different circumstances but at the beginning of the Covid 19 lock down i decided there's nothing stopping me from pursuing this dream.

The first decision i made was to stay behind in my college hostel when others were going home then i made research online about how to start programming for absolute beginner, back then i never knew what branch of programming to venture into my main aim was to just start after reading couples of blogs i decided it best to start with basic HTML and CSS you know i can't believe i finished a comprehensive text book of more that 1000 pages and some couple of cheat sheets, i was excited to explore this new world and beyond, after that i took a course about Bootstrap** and professional Web development on Udemy.

I practiced and practiced and practiced with everything i was taught then one of my hostel mate that didn't went home too notice me because i was always up in the midnight, he confronted me and ask what i was hiding and the reason why i have to be up every night i told him i started learning programming and i have to practice, he was surprised and told that he have a friend that is very good in programming and still around that he link me to i was happy because i need someone to serve as mentor which will prevent me from using the trial and error method I'm currently using. I met with the guy and he was amazing but he refused to help me at first due to the fact that he was always busy and most of his past students quit when the road get rough.

I had this great zeal to overcome any obstacle i face and i have to prove to him that i am not one of his past students and gain his trust so i started visiting him one or twice a week, I'll call him whenever i have problem with me code then i became a familiar face, so he called one day and told me he is trying to organize an online class for some of his student and i can join if I'm interested for a token, he introduced me to Android Development although it was difficult to grasp the first few weeks but i later got the hang of it, while taking the online class he gave me a project to work on and we developed a website for some local government group. you can check it out here .

Due to some reason the online class stopped and i was left hanging i loved this new path i just discovered and now that the journey has been cut short, how do i proceed? that was the question i keep asking myself and luckily stumbled up an ad from google about a course on Udacity that teaches android development for free, immediately i enroll for the courses and since then i have learnt about core android technologies and used them to developed sample app which is on my gitHub repository, although i have not gotten any developer job in Android Development one thing i know for sure is if i keep pushing my self and i keep going that will come around very soon.

This might not be one of those lengthy blog post and what i wrote here might sound some how but what i really want to point out and the catch of this story is

YOU CAN DO WHATEVER YOU SET YOUR MIND ON
and by that i mean anything. If you can imagine it then you can do it.

Thank you for reading...